



May 14, 2014

# STRICTLY EMBARGOED FOR BROADCAST OR PUBLICATION UNTIL 12.00HRS MIDDAY ON THURSDAY MAY 14, 2015

# NOMINATIONS FOR THE 2015 ARQIVA COMMERCIAL RADIO AWARDS ANNOUNCED

The nominations for the 2015 Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards were today (May 14) unveiled by Absolute Radio's Rob Beckett and Sarah Champion via video broadcast at <a href="https://www.commercialradioawards.org">www.commercialradioawards.org</a>, on IRN audio, plus on twitter @arqivaawards.

A boost in both the level and quality of entries will this year be reflected with a shortlist of five in each award category, with a Bronze, Silver and Gold winner to be announced at the ceremony on July 8<sup>th</sup>

Nominations this year see a wide cross-section of stations, media agencies, advertisers and presenters in the running, from Radio Borders for **Station of the Year** (under 500,000 TSA) and KMFM for **Feature of the Year** with its *Save Someone's Christmas*, to IKEA for **Advertiser of the Year** and Absolute Radio's Christian O'Connell for **Presenter of the Year** (2m+TSA). Full list of nominations below.

The awards, now in their 20<sup>th</sup> year, are organised by RadioCentre, the industry body for commercial radio, with Arqiva as the headline sponsor, and numerous industry companies supporting individual awards, including Pure Digital, NRS Media, Ipsos Mori, ViewQuest, RCS, GES Radio Intelligence, PPL, PRS for Music, Reelworld, Roberts Radio, IRN and Sky News, 7digital, NDL and GTN UK.

Siobhan Kenny, Chief Executive of RadioCentre said: "The Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards are a great opportunity for commercial radio to showcase the breadth and diversity of its output and this year's bag of entries is no exception. Standards are relentlessly high and competition stiff – which will make for an exciting evening in July."

Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva said: "Congratulations to all those who have been nominated this year. As ever, the calibre of talent is very high and we wish everyone the best of luck, in what looks set to be a fantastic 2015 awards."

Heart London breakfast presenters Jamie Theakston and Emma Bunton will host the awards on the evening of Wednesday July 8<sup>th</sup> at the Camden Roundhouse in London. There will also be live music performances by special guests to be announced nearer the event.

There are a total of 24 categories, including PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year, PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio and a new award for 2015, the Innovation Award for the best 'new idea' whether digital, station operation, or ways to generate more revenue.

Tickets for the awards will go on sale on May 21<sup>st</sup> – see <u>www.commercialradioawards.org</u> website for booking details and prices.

#### **ENDS**

#### For more information:

For press enquiries please contact Lucy Goodwin at Reputation Communications on: 07961 452558 or email: <a href="mailto:lucy@reputationcommunications.com">lucy@reputationcommunications.com</a>

For more information on the Arqiva Awards please contact: arqivaawards@radiocentre.org

#### **Notes to editors**

• The Ali Booker Memorial Award remembers journalist Ali Booker who died of breast cancer in 2010. Ali spent the last three years of her life working as a journalist at JACKfm and Glide fm in Oxfordshire. She was awarded an Arqiva 'Best Special Programme' for her 'cancer diaries' as well as a Silver Sony award for Best Community Programming in 2010.

## The 2015 Argiva Commercial Radio Awards – Nominations

Presenter of the Year (under 2 Million TSA) - Sponsored by View Quest

Brian Moore Metro Radio
Jordan North Rock FM
Mark & Twiggy 107 Oak FM
Steve & Karen Metro Radio

Trevor & Caroline 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Presenter of the Year (over 2 Million TSA) - Sponsored by Ipsos Mori

Christian O'Connell Absolute Radio
Clint Boon XFM Manchester
Frank Skinner Absolute Radio
Jon Holmes XFM London

Nick Ferrari LBC

**Programmer of the Year - Sponsored by RCS** 

Paul Gerrard Heart & Smooth West Midlands, Capital Birmingham

Tony Moorey Absolute Radio

James Rea LBC Andy Roberts Kiss

Gary Stein Heart London

**Unsung Hero of the Year - Sponsored by GES** 

Lisa Bayley Absolute Radio
Pat Broome Smooth North West
James Craddock 106 JACKfm and JACK 2

Sally Elkington Lincs FM Group
Rhiana Povey Capital NW & Wales

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Lauren Jones Global's Newsroom Wales

Laura Pennington Hallam FM

Tom Swarbrick LBC

Micky Welch Metro Radio

Gillian Wheelan Global's Newsroom Scotland

Station of the Year (<500,000 TSA) - Sponsored by PRS for Music

Isle of Wight Radio Northsound 1

MFR

Radio Borders Radio Plymouth

Station of the Year (500,000 to 2M TSA) - Sponsored by PRS for Music

Clyde 1 Forth one Hallam FM KMFM

Metro Radio

## Station of the Year (2 Million + TSA) - Sponsored by PRS for Music

Absolute Radio Classic FM

LBC

Planet Rock Smooth Radio UK

## Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2 Million TSA) - Sponsored by Pure Digital

Capital Breakfast with Matt, Polly & Geraint Capital South Wales

Big John @ Breakfast Hallam FM

Jack's Morning Glory 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire & JACK 2

Keith Clarkson at Breakfast Radio Borders
Mark O'Sullivan at Breakfast Touch FM

## Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2 Million TSA) - Sponsored by Reelworld

The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show
Tim Lihoreau - More Music Breakfast
Sam & Amy
Gem 106
Heart breakfast with Jamie & Emma
XFM Breakfast with Tim Cocker

Absolute Radio
Classic FM
Gem 106
Heart London
XFM Manchester

#### Feature(s) of the Year

Auschwitz - A Survivor Returns LBC
Kid in the Car Forth 1
Lady Week Heart Sussex
Live Music Thursday Absolute Radio

Save Someone's Christmas KMFM

#### Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year - Sponsored by Roberts Radio

Back to 94 XFM Manchester
Behind the Curtain: A Royal Opera House Special Classic FM
The Clarke Carlisle Story Absolute Radio

The LBC EU Leaders Debate LBC
Referendum Live Clyde 1

#### **Specialist Programme of the Year**

Andi Durrant - the Electrick Playground

Breaking Bands

Nightowls

Rock n Roll Football

Saturday Night at the Movies

Kiss Fresh

Team Rock

Metro Radio

Absolute Radio

Classic FM

#### **Social Action Initiative**

Brighter Rider LBC

Cycle4Life Challenge Viking FM

Make Some Noise Heart London

Street Angels Key 103

Thirsty Kirsty - Dogs for the Disabled Banbury Sound

**Station Imaging Award** 

Capital Xtra Capital Xtra Saturday Night at the Movies Classic FM

Global's Make Some Noise LBC, Capital, Heart, Smooth, Classic FM, XFM, Gold

Kiss FM UK Kiss FM UK

Smooth Radio Network Smooth Radio Network

## News Coverage of the Year - Sponsored by IRN & Sky News

**BOB** fm Hertfordshire News Team

Free Radio News

Global's Newsroom Scotland Global's Newsroom Wales Hallam FM News Coverage

## Innovation of the Year - Sponsored by 7digital

Composed Classic FM
Bin Weevils Partnership Fun Kids
Jack to Control the Music JACK 2

Project Banana Absolute Radio
Share Radio Share Radio

## **Marketing Award**

Classic FM Interactive Classic FM
The Free Radio Phantom Free Radio
The Picadillys Key 103
Punching Above Your Weight Metro Radio
Stand Ups at Breakfast Absolute Radio

## Local Sales Team of the Year - Sponsored by NRS Media

Capital Scotland Radio Borders Radio Clyde Smooth North East

Smooth North East XFM Manchester

#### **National Sales Award**

Masters of Man Time with Just for Men
Go Think Big
Stubhun - #GigEnvy
Jingle Bell Ball with Morrisons
X Men FM
Absolute Radio
Bauer Media
Capital FM
XFM

#### Advertiser of the Year

British Gas IKEA

McDonald's
Media Agency of the Year - Sponsored by GTN UK
Carat
MEC
MediaCom
OMD
RadioWorks
PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year
Clean Bandit
Ella Henderson
George Ezra
Rixton
Sam Smith
PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio
Calvin Harris
Clean Bandit
Ed Sheeran
Queen
Sam Smith