PRESS RELEASE

July 08, 2015



Argiva Commercial Radio Awards 2015 - Winners Announced

Strictly embargoed for broadcast or publication until 22.00hrs on Wednesday July 08, 2015

The winners of the 2015 Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards were announced this evening (July 8) at a star-studded ceremony at London's Roundhouse in Camden.

Top artists, Alesha Dixon, Nathan Sykes, formerly of The Wanted and Aston, formerly of JLS, performed live at the ceremony, hosted by Heart London Breakfast presenters, Jamie Theakston and Emma Bunton. The awards, now in their 20th year and organised by Radiocentre, are the biggest celebration of commercial radio, marking achievement from presenters and programming to advertising and marketing.

LBC picked up three Gold gongs on the night – Nick Ferrari for **Presenter of the Year** (2 million+ TSA), Tom Swarbrick won **Journalist of the Year** in the Ali Booker memorial prize and LBC was also awarded Gold for **Station of the Year** (2 Million+ TSA).

That awards tally was matched by Absolute Radio who scooped Gold in the **Specialist Programme of the Year** category with *Rock n Roll Football*, **Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year** with *The Clarke Carlisle Story* and Absolute's Christian O'Connell also received **The Arqiva Gold Award**.

Kiss's Andy Roberts received Gold for **Programmer of the Year** and Kiss was also awarded Gold for the **Station Imaging Award**.

Trev & Caroline at 106JACKfm Oxfordshire scooped Gold for **Presenter of the Year** (under 2m TSA). Radio Borders picked up Gold for **Station of the Year** (under 500,000 TSA) and Metro Radio received Gold **Station of the Year** (500,000 – 2m TSA).

News Coverage of the Year Gold went to BOB fm's Hertfordshire News Team; Gold **Social Action Initiative** went to Viking FM for its *Cycle4Life Challenge* and Heart Sussex were awarded Gold for **Feature of the Year** for its *Lady Week*.

Radiocentre Ltd 55 New Oxford Street London, WC1A 1BS +44 (020) 7010 0600 radiocentre.org

Breakfast Show of the Year Gold (under 2m TSA) went to Hallam FM for Big John @

Breakfast, and Gold for Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2m TSA) went to Sam & Amy at

Gem 106.

The Marketing Award Gold went to Key 103 for their Girl Band: The Piccadillys, and Gold for

Innovation of the Year went to Fun Kids for the *Bin Weevils Partnership*.

Unsung Hero of the Year Gold went to Pat Broome at Smooth North West.

The NRS Media Local Sales Team of the Year Gold went to Radio Clyde, with the National

Sales Award Gold going to Bauer Media for Go Think Big. IKEA picked up Gold for Advertiser

of the Year and Media Agency of the Year Gold went to Carat.

The PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio was awarded to Sam Smith and the

PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year went to Ed Sheeran.

The Radiocentre Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded posthumously Richard

Wheatley and Jazz FM.

Siobhan Kenny, Chief Executive of Radiocentre commented: "Congratulations to all our Gold,

Silver and Bronze winners this evening – a fantastic standard of entries again this year,

demonstrating once again, that commercial radio remains in rude health, producing innovative,

creative content and compelling radio for our listeners."

Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva commented: "A massive congratulations to this

year's winners! It's been a tremendous year and the calibre of talent has been extremely high.

Argiva is proud to have once again sponsored the Commercial Radio Awards, and continue our

on-going support of, and growth, of this dynamic and exciting industry."

ENDS

For more information please contact Lucy Goodwin at Reputation Communication on:

07961 452558 or email: lucy@reputationcommunications.com

2



Notes to editors

The Ali Booker Award remembers former winner, journalist Ali Booker, who died of breast cancer in 2010.

The Argiva Awards are produced and staged by www.cryingoutloud.co.uk

Full list of 2015 winners

Presenter of the Year (under 2m TSA), sponsored by View Quest

Gold: Trev & Caroline - 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Silver: Jordan North - Rock FM
Bronze: Steve & Karen - Metro Radio

Presenter of the Year (over 2m TSA), sponsored by Ipsos Mori

Gold: Nick Ferrari - LBC

Silver: Clint Boon - XFM Manchester

Bronze: Christian O'Connell - Absolute Radio

Programmer of the Year, sponsored by RCS

Gold: Andy Roberts - Kiss Silver: James Rea - LBC

Bronze: Tony Moorey - Absolute Radio

Unsung Hero of the Year, sponsored by GES Radio Intelligence

Gold: Pat Broome - Smooth North West Silver: Sally Elkington - Lincs FM Group

Bronze: James Craddock - 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire & JACK 2

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Gold: Tom Swarbrick - LBC
Silver: Micky Welch - Metro Radio
Bronze: Laura Pennington - Hallam FM

Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA), sponsored by PRS for Music

Gold: Radio Borders
Silver: Isle of Wight Radio
Bronze: Northsound 1

Station of the Year (500,000 - 2m TSA), sponsored by PRS for Music

Gold: Metro Radio Silver: Clyde 1 Bronze: KMFM



Station of the Year (2m + TSA), sponsored by PRS for Music

Gold: LBC

Silver: Absolute Radio Bronze: Classic FM

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2m TSA), sponsored by Pure

Gold: Big John @ Breakfast - Hallam FM

Silver: JACK's Morning Glory - 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire & JACK 2

Bronze: Keith Clarkson at Breakfast - Radio Borders

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2m TSA), sponsored by Reelworld

Gold: Sam & Amy - Gem 106

Silver: Classic FM's More Music Breakfast with Tim Lihoreau
Bronze: The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show - Absolute Radio

Feature of the Year

Gold: Lady Week - Heart Sussex

Silver: Auschwitz - A Survivor Returns - LBC

Bronze: Kid in the Car - Forth 1

Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year, sponsored by Roberts Radio

Gold: The Clarke Carlisle Story - Absolute Radio

Silver: The LBC EU Leaders Debate - LBC Bronze: Referendum Live - Bauer Scotland

Specialist Programme of the Year

Gold: Rock n Roll Football - Absolute Radio

Silver: Andi Durrant - the Electrick Playground - Kiss Fresh

Bronze: Nightowls - Metro Radio

Social Action Initiative

Gold: Cycle4Life Challenge - Viking FM Silver: Thirsty Kirsty - Banbury Sound

Bronze: Global's Make Some Noise - Heart London

Station Imaging Award

Gold: KISS FM UK

Silver: Saturday Night at the Movies Classic FM

Bronze: Capital Xtra

News Coverage of the Year, sponsored by IRN & Sky News

Gold: BOB fm Hertfordshire News Team - BOB fm

Silver: Global's Newsroom Wales Bronze: Free Radio News - Free Radio

Innovation of the Year, sponsored by 7digital



Gold: Bin Weevils Partnership - Fun Kids

Silver: One Breakfast Show, Seven Playlists - Absolute Radio

Bronze: Composed - Classic FM

Marketing Award

Gold: Girl Band: The Piccadillys - Key 103

Silver: Punching Above Your Weight - Metro Radio Bronze : The Free Radio Phantom - Free Radio

Local Sales Team of the Year, sponsored by NRS Media

Gold: Radio Clyde

Silver: Smooth North East

Bronze: Radio Borders

National Sales Award

Gold: Go Think Big - Bauer Media

Silver: Masters of Man Time with Just for Men - Absolute Radio

Bronze: X Men FM - XFM

Advertiser of the Year

Winner IKEA

Media Agency of the Year, sponsored by GTN UK

Gold: Carat Silver: RadioWorks

Bronze: OMD

PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Gold: Sam Smith
Silver: Clean Bandit
Bronze: Ella Henderson

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio

Gold: Ed Sheeran Silver: Calvin Harris Bronze: Queen

The Arqiva Gold Award

Winner Christian O'Connell - Absolute Radio

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner Richard Wheatley & Jazz FM