

July 3, 2013

ARQIVA COMMERCIAL RADIO AWARDS 2013 WINNERS ANNOUNCED

- LBC leads the way with four awards, as Global scoop six overall
- Bauer wins five awards including three for Metro Radio
- Absolute Radio wins three awards
- Commercial Radio Roll of Honour unveiled

The winners of the 2013 Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards were announced this evening (July 3) at a star-studded ceremony at London's Westminster Bridge Park Plaza Hotel.

The awards, now in their 18th year, organised by RadioCentre, celebrated commercial radio's 40th anniversary this year, with live performances from artists across the decades, including Atomic Kitten, The Feeling, Level 42 and The Original Bucks Fizz.

The Commercial Radio Roll of Honour, which tells the story of commercial radio's 40 year history, was also unveiled during the evening, naming 40 individuals who have made a significant contribution to the growth and success of the industry.

Global led the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards scooping six gongs, with LBC picking up four of those for Station of the Year (over 2 million TSA); Iain Dale, Presenter of the Year (over 2 million TSA), James Rea, Programmer of the Year and Dan Freedman, for the Ali Booker Memorial Journalist of the Year Award. Global's other awards were for Radio Station Event of the Year for the Capital Summertime Ball and Station Imaging Award for Classic FM.

Bauer picked up five awards, with three of those going to Metro Radio - for Station of the Year (500,000 – 2 million TSA), while Presenter of the Year and Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2 million TSA), each went to Metro's Steve & Karen. Bauer's other

awards went to Kiss with Rickie, Melvin & Charlie for Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2 million TSA), and Rock FM for Feature of the Year with Lionel Glitzy/Hywel and Jamie's Vegas Adventure.

Absolute Radio won Specialist Programme of the Year for The Ronnie Wood Show, (produced by Somethin' Else); The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes scooped The Marketing Award and the National Sales Team Award went to Absolute for InStream.

Real & Smooth won Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year for Real Radio North West's Ciaran's Cause, and Local Sales Team of the Year for Smooth Radio London.

Newcomer of the Year went to Andrew Murray from 103.1 Central FM/Forth One & Forth 2 and News Coverage of the Year went to IRN, produced by Sky News Radio.

Isle of Wight Radio picked up Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA) and Orion's Free Radio walked away with the Social Action Initiative Award for Walk for Harry.

The PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio went to Coldplay, with Chris Martin collecting the award live. PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year went to Emeli Sandé.

Advertiser of the Year went to British Sky Broadcasting, and Media Agency of the Year went to Mindshare.

The RadioCentre Chairman's Award was presented to John Mottram, formerly from the Department of Culture, Media and Sport, and now of PRS.

Andrew Harrison, Chief Executive of RadioCentre commented: "Congratulations go to all our winners this evening – it was fantastic to see entries of such a high standard, particularly as we received record entries this year. The awards demonstrate that, in our 40th year, commercial radio continues to innovate, producing compelling, quality content, curated by DJs and presenters which listeners trust."

Ben Hart, Head of Commercial Radio at Arqiva commented: "Tonight was a great celebration of the best of commercial radio today as well as its 40 year history. Well done to all our worthy winners, not forgetting the many nominees that made the judges decisions even more challenging this year."

ENDS

For further information please contact Lucy Goodwin, Head of Press, RadioCentre 020 7010 0655, mobile: 07951 480496 or email: lucy.goodwin@radiocentre.org

Notes to editors

The Ali Booker Award remembers former winner, journalist Ali Booker, who died of breast cancer in 2010.

The Arqiva Awards are produced and staged by www.cryingoutloud.co.uk

Full list of 2013 winners

Presenter of the Year (under 2 Million TSA)

Steve & Karen - Metro Radio

Presenter of the Year (over 2 Million TSA)

Iain Dale - LBC 97.3

Programmer of the Year (sponsored by RCS)

James Rea - LBC 97.3

Newcomer(s) of the Year (sponsored by Creative Skillset)

Andrew Murray - 103.1 Central FM / Forth One & Forth 2

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Dan Freedman - LBC 97.3

Station of the Year (<500,000 TSA)

Isle of Wight Radio

Station of the Year (500,000 to 2M TSA)

Metro Radio

Station of the Year (over 2 Million TSA)

LBC 97.3

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2 Million TSA)

Steve & Karen's Breakfast Show - Metro Radio

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2 Million TSA)

Kiss Breakfast with Rickie, Melvin & Charlie - Kiss

Feature(s) of the Year

Lionel Glitzy/Hywel and Jamie's Vegas Adventure - Rock FM

Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year

Ciaran's Cause - Real Radio North West

Specialist Programme of the Year

The Ronnie Wood Show - Absolute Radio

Social Action Initiative

Walk For Harry - Free Radio

Station Imaging Award (sponsored by Beds & Beats)

Classic FM - Global Radio

News Coverage of the Year

IRN News & Sports Coverage Produced by Sky News Radio

Marketing Award (sponsored by Getmemedia.com)

The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes - Absolute Radio

Local Sales Team of the Year (sponsored by NRS Media)

Smooth Radio London - Real & Smooth Ltd

National Sales Award

InStream - Absolute Radio

Radio Station Event of the Year

Capital's Summertime Ball with Vodafone - Capital FM

Advertiser of the Year

British Sky Broadcasting Ltd

Media Agency of the Year

Mindshare

PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Fmeli Sandé

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio

Coldplay

Chairman's Award

John Mottram, formerly of Department Culture Media & Sport, now at PRS